Border Cricket embraces the following values in support of our vision.

Cornerstones (or building blocks) of the vision

  1. Personal commitment and Excellence

  2. A Goal-directed and action-orientation

  3. Transparent and accountable Governance

  4. The true spirit of Sportsmanship

  5. Non-racist and non-sexist Inclusivity
  1. A dynamic and Unique Brand with strong heritage.
  2. A World-class, integrated Cricket Development Programme.

  3. Strong Partnerships with key community and government leaders.
  4. Financial Stability strongly backed by loyal sponsors.

  5. Appropriate Cricket Facilities which are fully utilised and well maintained.
T. Ganda (President)

Tando Ganda is the President of the Border Cricket Members Council and Chairman of the Board of Directors. His involvement in cricket started in the 1980’s at Homemade Cricket Club in Alice and he has been involved in various capacities in cricket which include coaching of the Middledrift Primary School, being Chairman of Bakers Mini Cricket in Nowawe area, Secretary of the Alice Club Cricket Committee and later President of the Alice Cricket Board. He is currently a senior education specialist in the Fort Beaufort district.


Z. Dweba

Dr Zandi Dweba is an independent director and is chairman of the Human Resources Committee. He is a seasoned Human Resources and Leadership Practitioner with experience that spans over nearly three decades. As part of his extramural activities he serves as an external (post-graduate) moderator for some Eastern Cape universities in Human Resources Management and Labour Relations. 

S Ndzundzu (Vice-President)

Simphiwe Ndzundzu is the Vice-President of Border Cricket. Previously a selector for Border Cricket, he has also been involved with the Good Hope Cricket Club for many years and was the Chairman of the King Williams Town Members Structure. He is a keen sportsman and has participated in several marathons including the Comrades Marathon. He is a forensic auditor for the Department of Treasury.

Mfundo Macanda

Mfundo Macanda is a Non-Independent Director for Border Cricket.   He has been involved in various capacities at Ikhwezi Lomso Cricket Club, King Williams Town Amacalégusha Cricket Sub-Union, Border Rural and Country Teams.   Having served cricket for over 20 years he is particularly passionate about Rural Cricket.   He is currently employed at the Department of Rural Development and Agrarian Reform and oversees the portfolio of Club Cricket on the Board.  

M. Smith

Mike Smith is an independent director and is chairman of the Legal Committee and a member of the Finance Committee. He is an experienced attorney with a commercial background and is a director at Smith Tabata Inc. specialising in civil litigation and conveyancing. He has extensive experience in community development projects and has worked with various municipalities and government departments.

Penny Elworthy

Penny Elworthy chairs the Marketing Sub-Committee on the Board and is an Independent Director. Penny has extensive experience in the office automative industry. She also has experience in the hospitality industry and has always been an avid sport lover throughout her life. She played action cricket, represented Border Women’s Cricket, represented SA Indoor Cricket (Vice-Captain) and represented SA Over 30’s ‘for SA Indoor Cricket. She served as the Chairperson of Border Women's Cricket in the early 90's.

Uzukhanye Lindy Madia

Uzukhanye Lindy Madia is an Independent Director who also Chairs the Audit & Risk Committee which is responsible to provide an independent oversight over governance, risk management and control processes. She has extensive experience in corporate governance in the public sector.  She is currently employed at the Eastern Cape Provincial Treasury as the Director:  Transversal Internal Audit Services. 

T. Booi (CEO)

Thando Booi is the CEO of Border Cricket and thus serves on the Board as an Executive Director. He started at Border Cricket in August 2013. Before being appointed at Border Cricket, he was the Market Development Manager and National Head of Distribution at Old Mutual - Transactional Banking as well as the Regional Manager at Capitec.

S. Moore

Shaun Moore is the chairman of Finance and a non-independent director for Border Cricket. He is extensively experienced and a goal-oriented Chartered Accountant involved with private sector finance management, public sector CFO support and investment bank business management. He has a good track record leading the investigation and analysis of financial reports to summarise and forecast financial position.

C. Hartland

Cyril Hartland is a non-independent director and chairman of the Transformation Committee. He is a minister in Fort Beaufort who has a deep love for the game of cricket and accepted the position of serving on the Board to serve the aspirations of transforming the game of cricket in the Border region. In his playing days he was an all-round cricketer and opening batsman.


Useful links

Buffalo Park Cricket Grounds
Buffalo Park Drive,
East London, 5201

P.O. Box 803, East London,

Telephone: +27 43 743 7757
Facsimile: +27 43 743 2393

There are currently no positions available. Please check back with us soon.
Clothing tender BC-201702
Cricket Balls Tender BC-201701
Equipment Tender BC-201703

Thank you to our sponsors: